We aim to publish all reviews. However, we reserve the right to moderate, or not publish, any that may contain offensive language or that have been written by anyone who has not stayed with us. For this reason, your review may not be published for 24 hours.

Click on Add a review below to add your review.

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 69 reviews)
Excellent97%
Very good3%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Add a review

A delightful haven

Rated 5 out of 5
06/09/2022

Date of stay: 20-27 Aug 2022

A superb country home presented immaculately by hosts. Booking and confirmation was very easy, with the owners providing very clear instructions on how to get there – essential as it’s tucked away in the forest! Plenty to do on site with table tennis and badminton, with a lovely covered space to dine outside in the warm evenings. Plenty more to do within a short drive; sailing and kayaking on the Loire, horse riding and golf all within 20 minutes, as is Saumur if you fancy dinner out. Or just stay and enjoy the silence in the forest. Everyone was very relaxed after our week and all sorry to be leaving.

Daryl G.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

What a lovely review, thank you all very much.

Lovely setting, suitable for all ages

Rated 5 out of 5
27/08/2022

Date of stay: 30 Jul – 6 Aug 2022

We had a great holiday. A lovely setting in Beautiful grounds, very well equipped property with everything you need. Plenty of space for our boys to play. Great location for exploring Saumur and surrounding areas. Great hosts who have lots of information on the local area. We would love to go back.

Samantha W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you for a lovely review. We are glad that you had a great holiday, and we would love to see you again.

Thoroughly recommended

Rated 5 out of 5
20/07/2022

Date of stay: 11 -26 Jun 2022

We had a fabulous two weeks. Simon & Jackie welcomed us and made us feel very comfortable in their delightful gite. Very spacious with lovely grounds. Our dogs particularly enjoyed the generous, and fully enclosed, garden. Well placed for the attractions of the Loire the gite is also very quiet, and surrounded by gorgeous woodland. We would thoroughly recommend this gite and the delightful hosts.

Chris T.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Great review, thank you

The Perfect Gite

Rated 5 out of 5
05/07/2022

Date of stay: 25 Jun – 2 Jul 2022

We loved our stay at Mouliherne and had a wonderful greeting from Jackie & Simon with a delicious welcome basket full of lovely produce. The surroundings and garden were so peaceful and the house was immaculate with everything we could wish for. The first place we’ve stayed with good sharp kitchen knives too. We also fell in love with their dogs. Thank you so much

Clare C.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

A great review, thank you so much. We really enjoyed having you all here too.

Rural France idyll !

Rated 5 out of 5
24/06/2022

Date of stay: 4 – 10 June 2022

I agree with previous visitors that it is difficult to do this place justice in pictures even though it does look very appealing on the website . Pictures cannot convey completely the peace and tranquillity nor the sense it conveys of having been lost in time . Added to which, it is extremely comfortable and well equipped and the livestock [ dogs and horses ] only serve to add to its appeal .

We reluctantly sold our own French longhouse in a neighbouring village three years ago and are delighted to have found Les Vieux Auberts to visit instead .

Linda A.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

A lovely review, thank you very much.

Didn’t want to leave!

Rated 5 out of 5
27/05/2022

Date of stay: 30 Apr-14 May 2022

We stayed for 2 weeks at this gorgeous property. Whilst we had read all about it before our holiday, it was still much nicer than we expected. It was incredibly well equipped and spacious. Simon & Jackie have thought about every requirement needed to enjoy a great holiday. The garden was fabulous and we were pleased that it was so well enclosed for Bertie, our dog, who thoroughly enjoyed all the space to run around. The exceptionally good weather was an added bonus. The sun loungers, outside furniture and garden games made it even more enjoyable. The property and grounds were beautifully manicured and maintained and it was very peaceful and private. Even though the location was fairly secluded, it was very easy to access many villages and attractions nearby. We wouldn’t hesitate to come back.

Kris W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Date of stay: 30 Apr-14 May 2022

What a lovely review, thank you very much. We are really glad you all enjoyed everything, including Bertie, who had plenty of space to run around, plus on-site playmates :).

Excellent

Rated 5 out of 5
10/04/2022

Date of stay: 28-31 Mar 2022

Très belle propriété, très bien équipée, extrêmement confortable. Absolument rien à redire.

Gillian M.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup. Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez tous passé un moment de détente.

Gîte spacieux au milieu d’un cadre de verdure très calme

Rated 4 out of 5
10/04/2022

Date of stay: 10-19 Mar 2022

Très belle propriété située à proximité de la forêt avec un jardin verdoyant très bien entretenu . Le gîte est très bien équipé et décoré avec goût. Propriétaires discrets et accueillants.

Laurence G.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour votre critique.

Despite their review comments, and they expressed complete satisfaction to us, we noted that this review was only 4 stars. When queried, Laurence stated that they had given 4 rather than 5 because they thought that the beams in the main bedroom were rather low for getting their babies out of the cot in the main bedroom. Our response is that they could have moved the cot as it was near the wall where the beams are lower. They also felt that it was a bit muddy around the front entrance gate and could do with some gravel to avoid getting their shoes dirty. Our response is that there is already gravel in this area,, but it had been raining continuously for several days before, and also, this is the countryside so you have to expect a bit of mud !!

Un îlot dans la forêt

Rated 5 out of 5
23/02/2022

Date of stay: 10-19 February 2022

Si vous chercher un endroit au beau milieu des bois et en même temps à proximité des bords de Loire, vignobles, châteaux et autres vous êtes au bon endroit ! Ce gîte est irréprochablement équipé. De nombreux détails et attentions nous ont épatés ; Tout est fait pour que rien ne vienne déranger votre tranquillité !! Très confortables, les espaces de vie sont spacieux, lumineux. Les literies sont d’une excellente qualité. Jackie et Simon sont d’une gentillesse et d’une disponibilité touchante et agréable ! De plus, nos deux chiens ont été réellement les biens venus et nous avons apprécié de nous sentir à l’aise quant à leur présence durant10 jours de véritables VACANCES. Merci à vous chers hôtes !

Anaïse O.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Une merveilleuse critique, merci beaucoup. Nous avons été ravis de vous recevoir et nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un moment de détente et que vous ayez pu explorer notre belle région.

Absolutely perfect.

Rated 5 out of 5
11/01/2022

We are a family of 5, our newest addition arriving last June, making this Claire’s first trip to France with our family and to meet this side of her family. Our daughter and son in law had this trip planned for over a year as their honeymoon after their May 2020 wedding. Turns out, the wedding ended up being on Zoom and the honeymoon delayed (until now.) In the meantime, Claire arrived and we were absolutely thrilled to be invited to her parent’s honeymoon (LOL) as “nannies.”

From the first moment of arrival, we had been truly warmly welcomed…seeing Simon and Jackie standing at the entrance of their enchanting property to greet us was so charming! We met the dogs, the horses and were shown the house where we spent two phenomenal weeks enjoying each other’s company, introducing France to Claire, visiting castles, eating the best food on the planet, watching DVDs in the gîte, playing games, and taking a million pics! We chose Les Vieux Auberts as our reunion venue with all our French family to celebrate les fêtes as well as the wedding they were unable to attend because of The Plague.

In this season of their lives, Simon and Jackie are made to host! Definitely they have the gift of hospitality….but equally, they have superb taste in decorating their accommodations. They have spared nothing; Simon even takes great care in sharpening the kitchen knives which is a serious treat for this visitor!

We so enjoyed sharing an evening of apéritifs with our delightful hosts (who we now consider friends) and getting to know their French story—-inspiring! Do we recommend Les Vieux Auberts? Without hesitation! Are we coming back? As soon and as often as possible!

Patti and Patrick (Noëlle, Brad, Claire) from Southern California

Patti R.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

WOW, what a wonderful review, thank you so much. It was a genuine pleasure to meet you all, and to welcome you to our little piece of heaven in France. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly over Christmas and New Year, and because of your own celebrations. We would love to welcome you all back here any time you like.

Wonderful place to be

Rated 5 out of 5
01/12/2021

Date of stay: 19-21 November 2021

We stayed at the Vieux Auberts during a family gathering, for 3 nights from November 19th till 22nd 2021.

Everything went out smoothly.

Jackie and Simon are wonderful hosts, and were also ready to give a helping hand and advise whenever needed.

The house is beautifully well kept, everything is absolutely clean and nothing is missing. My dog and grand-daughter were welcome and it was such a relief. They loved the horses and the other dogs, who remain mainly in the house.

I highly recommend this house and I will be definitely coming back as soon as I have an opportunity.

Thank you again Jackie and Simon for your kindness.

Isabel B.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you for this lovely review.

Perfect for families

Rated 5 out of 5
18/11/2021

Date of stay: 3-6 November 2021

Very cozy old (but modern!) family house with all possible amenities, very friendly hosts, in the middle of the forest with deer and hare but only half an hour from Saumur and 10 min. from a supemarche with everything you’d need.

Vladislav K.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you very much. We try hard to ensure your stay is as relaxing and enjoyable as possible.

Vacances dépaysantes et ressourçantes

Rated 5 out of 5
01/11/2021

Date of stay: 23 Oct – 1 Nov 2021

Des vacances géniales dans un environnement dépaysant, ressourçant et paisible. Des propriétaires au top, nous avons apprécié les moments échangés avec Simon et Jackie ainsi qu’avec les chevaux et les chiens. Une maison propre avec tout ce dont nous pouvons avoir besoin (même plus). Merci pour les cadeaux en arrivant. Bel espace dans une maison typique où nous nous sommes sentis comme chez nous. Tout le monde a adoré même ma chienne. En plus de cela, propriété bien situé pour les visites. J’espère vraiment pouvoir y retourner très vite à d’autres saisons. A cette saison, c’était magnifique avec la couleur des arbres. Encore merci à Simon et à Jackie.

Nathalie A.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Quelle merveilleuse critique – merci beaucoup. Nous serions ravis de vous accueillir à nouveau ici quand vous le souhaitez.

A fantastic 2 weeks

Rated 5 out of 5
01/11/2021

Date of stay: 3-18 Sep 2021

We had a fantastic 2 weeks at Les Vieux Auberts. So peaceful and restful. The gite has everything and was spotless. Jackie and Simon made the holiday complete and were perfect hosts. Could not have asked for anything more.

A little piece of heaven in France.

Kate O.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

So glad you had a relaxing time. The weather was kind as well, which all adds to the peace and quiet, as you can just sit out and enjoy the sun.

Such a lovely place! Gite, hosts and surroundings…

Rated 5 out of 5
01/11/2021

Date of stay: 3-13 October 2021

We had a most wonderful time at Simon and Jackies gite… We spent ten days here in oktober, with our young kids (1,5 and 5 yrs old). The gite is very well equipped (also for kids), and it is looked after with visible love and care. A lot of personal attention is given to make the cottage look and feel cosy. The beds are very comfy, also for us tall Dutchies. There is a private garden, that gives a lot of space and privacy, and rest of the garden- where the adjoined house of hosts is, is very beautiful and natural. There are some horses and three lovely dogs. The dogs were a big plus for our children. Jacky and Simon are lovely hosts, they help out when needed and leave you all the space you need as well. The surroundings of the gite have a lot to offer as well, on short distances. Numerous castles worth visiting, but also small trips to villages near the Loire and hikes in the forests.

We had a great stay and would love to be back some time!

Sara N.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

A lovely review Sara and Nick, many thanks. It was a pleasure having you all here, and we are very pleased that the children enjoyed meeting the dogs.

Excellent séjour en famille

Rated 5 out of 5
04/09/2021

Date of stay: 17-24 Jul 2021

Notre séjour en Anjou a été très agréable, et ce fut un plaisir de le passer aux vieux auberts. La propriété est parfaite pour notre famille de six, parfaitement propre et très bien équipée. Le jardin est magnifique et prendre nos repas sous la pergolas fut un plaisir. Calme et dépaysant au gite, tout en restant à portée des sites culturels de la région qui permettent d’agrémenter les vacances. A conseiller!

Romaric V.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour vos charmants commentaires. C’était un plaisir de vous recevoir ici.

Séjour de charme

Rated 5 out of 5
03/09/2021

Date of stay: 21-27 Aug 2021

Très belle propriété dans un écrin de verdure. Nous avons passé un agréable et confortable séjour au calme. Propriétaires attentionnés.

Cedric C.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires. Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé d’agréables vacances.

Super séjour

Rated 5 out of 5
24/08/2021

Date of stay: 14-21 Aug 2021

Très belle propriété, très bien entretenue , rien ne manque pour passer un séjour agréable, calme assuré entouré d’animaux . Simon et Jackie très accueillants et sympathiques. Location vivement recommandée.

Patrick L.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Très beaux commentaires, merci beaucoup.

Havre de paix au cœur de l’Anjou

Rated 5 out of 5
19/08/2021

Date of stay: 7-14 Aug 2021

Superbe propriété, très bien équipée et confortable. Les propriétaires sont accueillants et attentionnés, disponibles pour donner des conseils et chaleureux. Idéal pour passer des vacances en famille tout en profitant de la région.

Nicolas B.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Une belle appréciation, merci beaucoup.

A l’orée de la forêt

Rated 5 out of 5
13/08/2021

Date of stay: 31 Jul – 7 Aug 2021

Propriété aux abords agréables, très bien entretenue, à proximité de la forêt, dans un lieu calme proche de la nature et des animaux.

Philippe H.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires. C’était un plaisir de vous recevoir ici.

Great place to be

Rated 5 out of 5
05/08/2021

Date of stay: 24-31 Jul 2021

It is difficult not to use superlatives when writing about Simon and Jackie’s gîte and about them as wonderful hosts. From the warm welcome to the very cozy and spacious rooms, which are superbly maintained and equipped, to the kitchen, which lacks nothing that is otherwise quite often missed, such as decent cutlery and sharp knives for all needs. There was simply nothing that we would have missed. The gazebo and ‘our’ part of the garden with its beautiful old trees did the rest to make us feel very comfortable despite the rather mixed weather during our stay. Simon and Jackie’s gîte is a WYSIWYG thing. It’s certainly and intentionally not a substitute for a trip to the playa del ingles and wild party nights. But it is the right place if you want to eavesdrop on the conversations of tawny owls and barn owls at night, and witness the flying skills of barn swallows and house martins and the songs of orioles and wrens during the day. How nice it was to walk through the grass, damp from dew or rain, right after getting up with a cup of coffee or tea and listen to the dense forest awakening to a new day. How fascinating it was to hear even the rain approaching in the trees from the gazebo. Add to that the poetry of Emily Dickinson and Ted Hughes, or the nature writing of Robert Macfarlane along with a glass or two of the superb Loire wines. The absolute silence and seclusion of Les Vieux Auberts made us very quickly forget the hustle and bustle of everyday life and completely come down. Yet it is so centrally located that many of the major attractions of this part of the Loire Valley can be reached quickly and easily in less than an hour. And although we were unfortunately only able to spend a week there, it feels to us like double or triple that time in terms of recreational value. We have already strongly recommended this gîte to our friends and will be very happy to return.

Patrick H.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Wow, what a wonderful review – thank you so much. We are so pleased that you managed to relax and refresh yourselves here, as well as explore the region a little. The gîte is really good at helping to ease the stress of everyday life. A shame the weather was not a little better though! We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Parfait

Rated 5 out of 5
26/05/2021

Date of stay: 21-24 May 2021

Pour reprendre l’ensemble des commentaires précédents, une location et des hôtes exceptionnels! Maison pleine de charme, très propre, parfaitement équipée, rien ne manque, à l’extérieur comme à l’intérieur! Hôtes charmants, plein d’attentions attendent à notre arrivée et tout est fait pour faciliter la vie des locataires. Nous reviendrons, c’est certain !

Alban M.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cette belle critique. Nous faisons toujours de notre mieux pour nous assurer que nos hôtes passent un séjour relaxant chez nous et que le gîte a tout ce dont vous avez besoin.

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We always do our best to ensure that our guests have a relaxing break with us, and that the gîte has all you need.

Parfait !

Rated 5 out of 5
22/05/2021

Date of stay: 12-16 May 2021

Le gîte, parfaitement équipé et très bien entretenu, permet de se ressourcer au milieu de la nature. Bien situé, il y a tout ce qu’il faut à moins de 15min en voiture. Les hôtes, Jackie et Simon, sont très accueillants et vous mettent rapidement à l’aise. Si vous êtes séduit par la description et les photos, dites vous que c’est fidèle et encore bien mieux une fois sur place. Nous avons passés un très bon séjour, si nous avons l’occasion de retourner dans la région nous n’hésiterons pas à faire une halte chez Jackie et Simon.

Norman S.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires. Nous sommes heureux que vous vous soyez amusés, malgré le mauvais temps, et nous espérons vous revoir.

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves, despite the poor weather, and hope to see you again.

Délicieuse parenthèse

Rated 5 out of 5
16/03/2021

Date of stay: 20-26 Feb 2021

Nous avons passé un séjour merveilleux aux vieux auberts, les propriétaires sont aussi sympathiques que discrets et le gîte est confortable, propre et particulièrement bien équipé. Tout est pensé pour un grand repos et dépaysement !! L’environnement est par ailleurs magnifique avec de très belles ballades à faire. Je recommande vivement cet endroit !!

Henri M.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cet excellent commentaire. Nous avons été ravis de vous rencontrer et nous sommes heureux que vous ayez pu passer un bon moment et vous détendre avec nous.

Thank you very much for this great review. We were delighted to meet you all, and are glad you managed to have a good time and relax with us.

Parfait pour une halte au calme et en pleine nature

Rated 5 out of 5
11/01/2021

Date of stay: 26 Dec 2020 – 2 Jan 2021

Nous avons passé une semaine parfaite (entre Noël et le jour de l’An) dans le gîte de Simon et Jackie. Le gîte était impeccable, très fonctionnel, rien n’y manquait (y compris une chaise haute, un lit bébé et des DVD pour enfants!). Nos hôtes ont été d’une gentillesse confondante, d’une très grande discrétion et toujours disponible. Les enfants ont beaucoup aimé voir les chevaux et les chiens chaque jour. Vraiment nous recommandons vivement ce gîte, nous y avons passé une très belle semaine au calme en pleine nature ! Nous espérons beaucoup y revenir! Anne-Sophie & Clément

Anne R.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Quelle excellente critique, merci beaucoup. Nous nous efforçons de faire en sorte que tout soit parfait, et nous espérons vous revoir tous.

What an excellent review, thank you very much. We try to make everything perfect, and we hope to see you all again.

Excellent séjour

Rated 5 out of 5
15/11/2020

Date of stay: 27 Oct-1 Nov 2020

Nous avons passé un excellent séjour en famille aux Vieux Auberts pendant les vacances de la Toussaint, au milieu de la forêt magnifiée par les couleurs d’automne. Lorsque le temps devient maussade, le confort du gîte et la douce chaleur du poêle à bois permettent de passer de bons moments à l’intérieur. Et lors des éclaircies le jardin et la table de pingpong ont été bien appréciés.

La literie confortable et le calme ambiant permettent le repos. A l’étage il faut toutefois être prudent la nuit parce que les poutres sont nombreuses ! La cuisine est bien équipée.

La proximité des propriétaires et leur gentillesse sont évidemment des atouts. Nous avons particulièrement apprécié le panier de bienvenue qui comporte quelques échantillons de la production locale. Leur histoire est intéressante et nous avons eu plaisir à découvrir avec eux la façon dont ils ont magnifié les Vieux Auberts depuis leur arrivée.

BERTHELOT

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Une excellente critique, merci beaucoup. C’était un plaisir de vous rencontrer tous. Il est à noter que “la production locale” de notre Welcome Pack provient directement de notre potager et de nos propres arbres.

A great review, thank you very much. It was lovely to meet you all. Just worth noting that “the local production” in our Welcome Pack comes directly from our vegetable garden and our own trees.

Agréable maison

Rated 5 out of 5
30/10/2020

Date of stay: 17-20 Oct 2020

La propriété se trouve sur un très beau terrain, isolée et dans un endroit calme au milieu des bois. Nous avons été très content de l’accueil et surtout du panier garnis qui était délicieux. Les hôtes étaient très gentils, de même que leurs chiens et leur chevaux. La maison dispose de tout le nécessaire et les chambres étaient très agréables. Il y a plein de choses à voir dans la région.

Coralie L.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beacoup pour votre critique et vos commentaires. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez passé un bon séjour chez nous.

Un séjour revigorant

Rated 5 out of 5
24/10/2020

Date of stay: 20-24 Oct 2020

Le charme du lieu n’a d’égal que la beauté des environs. Les hôtes, chaleureux et disponibles, entretiennent leur domaine et leur gîte avec beaucoup d’attention. Un endroit parfait pour se reposer, se cultiver et se reconnecter à la nature. A découvrir, sans hésiter ! Merci à Simon et à Jackie

Muriel C.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cette charmante critique. Nous savons que vous avez tous apprécié votre séjour chez nous et que vous aimeriez vous revoir quand il fait plus chaud!

Un magnifique séjour aux Vieux Auberts !

Rated 5 out of 5
09/10/2020

Date of stay: 8-15 Aug 2020

Quelle magnifique semaine avons-nous eu le bonheur de passer dans cette propriété des Vieux Auberts, pleine de charme, entourée d’arbres majestueux et de grands espaces pour les chevaux et les chiens si affectueux de Jackie ! Jackie et Simon sont des hôtes exceptionnellement accueillants, remplis d’attention, avec lesquels nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir à échanger. Merci à eux pour le superbe “Welcome Basket” et aussi pour le bon vin de Saumur rouge qu’ils nous ont fait découvrir et que nous avons partagé ensemble à l’heure de l’apéro ! Les Vieux Auberts est un havre de paix et de calme en plein coeur de la forêt. La maison est décorée avec raffinement, remarquablement bien équipée et documentée. Dans le grand jardin, nous avons beaucoup apprécié de pouvoir prendre nos repas, profiter des transats pour faire la sieste ou lire un bon livre, faire des tournois de badminton jusqu’à la nuit tombée ….!

Thanks again to both of you for your kindness that allowed us to spend this great holiday hiking et visiting castles in your beautiful region.

Take good care of you and we hope to see you soon !

Jacqueline, Françoise, Myriam et Anne-Sophie

Jacqueline .

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci à tous pour cette excellente critique. Nous nous efforçons de faire en sorte que tous nos clients passent les meilleures vacances possibles et nous serions ravis de vous accueillir à nouveau.

Thank you all for such a great review. We try hard to make sure all our guests have the best holidays, and we would love to welcome you back again.

Un séjour de qualité à la campagne

Rated 5 out of 5
10/08/2020

Date of stay: 1-8 Aug 2020

Nous avons passé un très agréable séjour dans le gîte de Simon et Jackie, qui est à la fois plein de charme, spacieux, confortable et très bien équipé (notamment la cuisine!). Un grand coup de cœur pour le jardin, très grand et bien entretenu dans lequel on a pu profiter de plusieurs activités mises à disposition (badminton, molki, transat, barbecue…il ne manque que la piscine 🙂 ). La qualité des lits mérite également d’être mentionnée. L’environnement est bucolique et idéal pour déconnecter de la vie citadine. La forêt est à proximité immédiate. Nos hôtes Jackie et Simon étaient charmants et très accueillants, la communication avec eux était très fluide en amont! En résumé, un excellent séjour que nous recommandons vivement, merci encore Simon et Jackie!

Elsa G.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Quelle merveilleuse critique Elsa, merci beaucoup. Nous sommes toujours heureux quand nos invités sont heureux, et que vous ayez réussi à utiliser tous les jeux et autres choses que nous fournissons. Vous avez également exploré un peu les bois environnants, ce qui était formidable. Les enfants étaient tous très heureux aussi, avec beaucoup de sourires chaque fois que nous les avons vus. Nous sommes impatients de vous accueillir à nouveau.

Wonderful stay in the Loire

Rated 5 out of 5
09/08/2020

Date of stay: 25 Jul-1 Aug 2020

The house is beautifully located in the forest with a large garden, which our children really enjoyed exploring as well as playing with the dogs. Simon and Jackie took really good care of us and ensured that we had everything we needed. It is a good place to explore the Loire region, both the larger sites as well as some nice villages. We hope to return some time in the future.

Alexander K.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Great review Alex, many thanks. We’re glad you all enjoyed your stay, and that the children were able to explore and meet some of the local wildlife. We hope that you can all come back again to see more.

Un excellent séjour a la campagne

Rated 5 out of 5
28/07/2020

Date of stay: 18-25 July 2020

Nous avons passé une excellente semaine aux Vieux Auberts. La maison est grande, tres bien équipée et le jardin est très agréable pour y paresser ou y jouer (chaises longues à disposition, ping-pong…) . Simon et Jacky sont très accueillants et font tout pour que l’on se sente bien des l’arrivée: la maison est très propre, les lits faits…et le panier de bienvenue est une très gentille attention que nous avons beaucoup appréciée.

Nous étions avec nos 2 grands adolescents et la maison est idéale pour cela avec une chambre avec salle de douche au rez-de-chaussée de chaussée et ses deux chambres avec une salle de douche à l’étage.

Une de nos meilleures expériences de location de maison.

Nous y retournons avec plaisir

Merci encore à Simon et Jacky

Bernadette P.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cette excellente critique. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour chez nous et que vous ayez réussi à faire un peu d’exploration également.

Un gîte de grande qualité

Rated 5 out of 5
28/07/2020

Date of stay: 11-18 July 2020

Nous avons passé un séjour en famille très agréable dans un gîte de grande qualité, qui invite à la détente au milieu d’une nature foisonnante et de bois à perte de vue. Merci à Simon et Jackie Reeves de nous avoir fait partager cela.

Alain A.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire réfléchi. Ce fut un plaisir de vous avoir ici, et nous attendons avec impatience la prochaine visite.

Best Gîte ever – without exception

Rated 5 out of 5
30/06/2020

Date of stay: 27 Jul – 10 Aug 2019

Our second stay here and we’ve run out of superlatives to describe Les Vieux Auberts. Just book and see for yourself what holiday accommodation in France should be like – fantastic. Simon and Jackie are the perfect hosts.

Mike J.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thanks again Mike – it was great to see you both here again, and we’re so glad you had a relaxing holiday, still with plenty to do and see, even after all the other times you’ve been staying in the region. Even the weather was kind! We really look forward to seeing you both again

Séjour de rêve

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 12-15 Mar 2020

Nous avons passé un séjour de rêve, tant la maison et l’accueil étaient incroyables. Nous sommes toujours parti en location, mais jamais nous avons été autant gâté. Jackie et Simon se mettent en quatre pour vous recevoir: :magnifique panier de bienvenu, petits chocolats sur la table de chevet, bouteille de vin pétillant au frigidaire… La propriété est tout simplement magnifique. La maison très joliment décorée. On s’y sent à l’aise de suite. Nous n’avons qu’une hâte, celle d’y retourner dès que nous en aurons la possibilité.

Karine L.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Quelle excellente critique, merci beaucoup. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié le pack de bienvenue et tout le reste, même si ce n’était qu’un court séjour. La prochaine fois, vous devrez venir en été, quand tout est en pleine floraison, et que vous pourrez profiter de l’extérieur.

Euphoric

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 5-12 Mar 2020

This home is in an exquisitely beautiful setting. The surrounding area is a great deal of fun to explore in every direction. The owners are very thorough. Everything one could need has been provided. And the property is spotless inside and out, We cooked delicious dinners using foods purchased at a local farmers market. Quiet and peaceful home. Comfortable beds. I wish I’d made a 2-week reservation. One week simply wasn’t enough. We will be back … for sure.

Deborah Z.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

What a lovely review, thank you very much, Having travelled from California, we were delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed yourselves exploring this beautiful area. We were pleased that you saw the garden just as Spring had sprung, with the flowers in bloom and some of the trees in blossom.

A very comfortable, spacious and well-equipped house in a beautiful, tranquil environment.

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 20-29 Feb 2020

Simon and Jackie provide everything you might need to enjoy your stay in their gite and the lovely outside space. From the very generous welcome basket to the provision of all household products, they seem to have thought of all eventualities and clearly care about providing a great experience for their visitors. The house itself, traditional in its decor, is extremely comfortable with excellent beds, spacious bathrooms and plenty of relaxing furniture in the roomy lounge. It has a lovely atmosphere and is a pleasure to return to at the end of the day. Simon and Jackie are delightful to deal with and made it easy for us to settle into the house and the surrounding area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are very keen to return.

Anna W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you so much for a great review. We always try to ensure our guests have everything they need, right from the start, which is what we would want ourselves. We know that you are familiar with the area, and were very pleased to welcome you all to our part of it. Hopefully you will stay with us again, and explore even more.

Superbe

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 21-28 Dec 2019

Merci tout d’abord à Simon et Jackie pour leur gentillesse et toutes leurs petites attentions très appréciées au cours de la semaine. Le cadre est magnifique ( même en hiver, 😉 ) , très calme et reposant. Si vous aimez la nature, il ne faut pas hésiter, c’est l’endroit qu’il vous faut. De plus, si vous avez un peu de temps, vous avez la ville de Saumur très proche à visiter. En ce qui concerne le gîte, vous avez tout l’équipement qu’il vous faut, c’est parfait pour une famille, notre petite fille a adoré. Encore un grand merci aux propriétaires. Grégoire et Isabelle.

Grégoire V.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cette excellente critique. Cela nous rend toujours heureux quand nos invités le sont aussi. C’était un plaisir de vous avoir ici, et de présenter à votre fille nos chevaux et nos chiens. Nous espérons que vous reviendrez, peut-être au printemps ou en été, quand vous pourrez vraiment profiter du jardin.

MERCI!

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 26 Oct – 2 Nov 2019

Merci pour ce séjour magnifique Merci pour ce havre de paix représentant cette belle région angevine Merci pour cette quiétude ce calme cette tranquillité ou nous avons pu apprécier toute la nature qui nous entoure Merci d’avoir accepté notre chien Oscar qui lui aussi a passé d’excellents moments Enfin et surtout Merci pour votre accueil votre discrétion votre disponibilité et votre gentillesse Dagmar Richard et notre chien Oscar.

Richard A.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci pour votre aimable évaluation. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié notre charmante petite partie de la France. C’était un plaisir d’avoir Oscar, un garçon bien élevé et gentil.

Fantastic experience

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 21-28 Sep 2019

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and throughout our stay Simon and Jackie were the perfect hosts. The property was very clean and in an excellent condition and it was clear that attention had been given to every little detail. The welcome pack was very generous and full of fresh, homegrown produce. The property is located in a beautiful, quiet and peaceful area where you can relax and enjoy nature. Full marks to Simon and Jackie!

Elsabe H.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you very much. We enjoyed having you all here, and chatting over aperos during the week. Glad you found the gîte was what you were looking for, and that you managed to explore, even though the weather was a bit dull, after all the sunshine we’ve had this year.

Excellent all round

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 14-21 Sep 2019

If you are looking for a home from home location in the peace and quiet – then look no further.

This beautiful gite is set in large grounds, with its own large garden where you can relax and rest in comfort. Perfectly located for exploring the vineyards and chateaux of the Loire Valley. We would love to go back.

The only noise to disturb you are the owls, deer and wild boar on an evening and night. If you like stargazing then you will benefit from the dark skies and swathe of stars visible form the garden.

The beds are comfortable and meant we all slept well and the bedrooms spacious and well furnished, the same can be said of the bathroom and en suite.

The hosts Simon and Jackie have paid exceptional attention to detail to ensure you have everything you need to enjoy your holiday. They supply a welcome pack of a few things to get you started – tea, coffee etc. We made use of the opportunity to have some shopping done for us prior to arrival, meaning that our first two days were sorted from a food point of view. As intended by our hosts this meant we could arrive and relax, so would recommend others take advantage of this service too.

We enjoyed the table tennis, badminton and barbecue and other games (indoor and out) are also provided as is television and wifi.

Elizabeth S.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Elizabeth. We’ve tried hard to make our guests’ time here as laid back as possible, and we’re glad you took full advantage.

A wonderful, relaxing holiday

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 24 Aug – 7 Sep 2019

Les Vieux Auberts is a very special place. It has absolutely everything you need and want from a holiday. It is really well equipped – Simon and Jackie have obviously put a lot of thought into providing everything you could possibly need. The garden and grounds are lovely and the peace is wonderful. Simon and Jackie are brilliant hosts – very friendly and helpful. Their three dogs are great characters and extremely well behaved. Lots to see and do in the area too. We certainly hope to return.

Malcolm S.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you both for a great review. It’s always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their holiday. With the nice weather you definitely made the most of it, with trips out and about every day. The dogs were almost depressed after you left :). Hope to see you again soon.

Beautiful location, fabulous house and grounds with superb hosts

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 10-24 Aug 2019

The pictures really don’t do this gite justice. Simon and Jackie have rely worked hard to make this property a fabulous holiday destination. From the spotlessly clean house to the well tendered gardens we were impressed from the start. Jackie and Simon were there to meet us, and quickly showed us around the property so we were clear on how everything worked. There is also a very well laid out house book that covers all the usual items, such as places to visit etc however they have added additional items such as emergency contact and useful French phrases which was a really good idea. Also another unique touch was the welcome basket with fresh produce from their garden, and our pre ordered 1st shop waiting for us……fantastic idea ? The gite and garden are separate and secluded so as to give their guests a very peaceful and relaxing location which we took full advantage off, along with the many games provided which kept the kids occupied. There are lots of lovely villages and towns within the area to visit, we particularly liked Saumur with its bars and cafes. However if you just want to chill and relax this is a perfect location. Thank you Simon and Jackie for a wonderful holiday.

Steve W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Wow Steve – thank you for such a great review. With your fairly stressful job, we are so glad you all had such a relaxing time. There are many times during the day when there is total silence, or just a bit of birdsong, so it can’t be much more peaceful! As you know, we have tried to provide everything we ourselves would want in a gîte, particularly the cleanliness aspect, and we always ask our guests for ideas for improvement. Hopefully we are getting there!

Thoughtful amenities · Historic building · Spacious rooms

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 20-27 Jul 2019

Had a fantastic week at Les Vieux Auberts in July. Simon and Jackie are great hosts and have really have things spot on. The setting is so peaceful (not for those in search of nightlife unless, like us, you’re after hooting owls and deer and wild boar rustling in the forest!). The gite lacks for nothing and the ‘welcome pack’ with homemade apple juice and jam really was a cut above. There is loads to do in the area and would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting the Loire Valley.

Karen M.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Karen. We’re pleased you managed to hear the wildlife, even if some of it is still a bit elusive!

A truly excellent holiday cottage run by charming hosts

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 13-20 Jul 2019

Les Vieux Auberts is one of the best gites we have visited in 20 years of coming to France. It is comfortable and well equipped with every modern convenience whilst maintaining an authentic French rustic charm. Simon and Jackie are very welcoming hosts and have taken great care to ensure that your holiday is totally stress free. The property is meticulously clean and tidy on arrival and the welcome pack which includes some essentials as well as a few treats is very welcome indeed.

Mark P.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you very much for a great review. We have tried hard to ensure that the gîte has everything we would want ourselves if we were staying there! We’re also very pleased that you found so much to do and see in your first visit to this area, and that you found the holiday so relaxing as well. There is still loads more, so we hope to see you again.

Peaceful, dog-friendly and welcoming.

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 9 Jun – 6 Jul 2019

Well equipped and characterful gîte. Friendly and helpful owners live next door and ready to assist while valuing your (and their) privacy. Dogs safe in garden and genuinely welcome on premises. Peaceful, wooded location with all amenities reasonably close at hand. Good value, no compromise on quality.

Julie C.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Great review Julie, thank you very much. Very glad that you all had a good holiday with us, even with the scorching weather!

One of the very best of many visited – faultless

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 22-29 Jun 2019

Well designed, spacious, nicely furnished and decorated, equipped with everything, including generous welcome pack. Ground stunning and area very interesting – bit too hot at 46c (not usual) Simon and Jackie were perfect hosts. Bit of paradise!

Peter M.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you for your comments, and for those you left in our guest book. Very glad you found a small bit of paradise with us, even though it was a tad warm!! Unfortunately, we can’t control the weather, so everything is a bit parched at the moment. Even in the hot weather there is always something to see and do, so we look forward to seeing you again.

Excellent

Rated 4 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 25 May – 1 Jun 2019

Beautifully renovated gite full of character and comfort. Perfectly equipped

The outdoor dining area was beautiful and tranquil. You are surrounded by lush forest and birdsong

There is an abundance of attractions in the area, but equally the gite itself offers a retreat from the fast lane, perfect for nature lovers.

We brought grandma who is a wheelchair user and the downstairs facilities were just right for her .

Diana Y.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you for your lovely comments Diana. We are very pleased that the facilities were suitable for your grandma, as we set out to provide these from the outset. We would love to see you all again – perhaps next time we can take up your offer of teaching us some of your delicious Malaysian cooking!

Super gîte au calme dans la nature

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 13-20 Apr 2019

Les Vieux Auberts, charmante maison angevine ayant conservé tout le goût de l’authenticité , et en plus très fonctionnelle , spacieuse , très bien entretenue, très bien équipée et décorée, avec un jardin clos de belle surface pour la sécurité des enfants et des animaux de compagnie Jackie et Simon, des propriétaires charmants , pleins d’attention et de délicatesse , toujours à l’écoute des besoins et malgré cela très discrets et non envahissants, avec un grand sens de l’accueil et du respect, très disponibles également pour nos enfants de 11 et 14 ans Un cadre très agréable, avec beaucoup d’espace , des chevaux très abordables , 3 chiens merveilleux de gentillesse et d’éducation, très obéissants et affectueux, la propriété entourée de forêt , de petits chemins de balade La proximité du village de Mouliherne, la rapidité d’accès aux destinations touristiques ( Saumur avec son château et sa vieille ville , le zoo de la flèche et ses animaux rares , ainsi que ses soigneurs aussi sympas que dans ” une saison au Zoo” sur France 4, Angers et la Loire ) Une merveilleuse semaine pour profiter de la douceur angevine dans un lieu et avec des hôtes de qualité Un lieu rare !

Guy V.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Wow, quelle critique fantastique – un grand merci à tous. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez tous passé une si agréable pause avec nous et nous serions ravis de vous accueillir

Un gîte cosy dans un havre de paix

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 30 Dec 2018 – 2 Jan 2019

Nous avons passé un excellent réveillon entre amis dans ce gîte confortable et très bien équipé. Les propriétaires sont charmants, à l’écoute de leurs hôtes et très arrangeants. Les amateurs de silence et d’immersion en pleine nature apprécieront. De nombreux sites culturels peuvent être découverts à partir de ce lieu.

Géraldine B.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci pour votre excellente critique. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre court séjour parmi nous au cours de la nouvelle année et que vous ayez pu voir un peu plus cette magnifique région.