We aim to publish all reviews. However, we reserve the right to moderate, or not publish, any that may contain offensive language or that have been written by anyone who has not stayed with us. For this reason, your review may not be published for 24 hours.

Click on Add a review below to add your review.

5
5.0 rating
5 out of 5 stars (based on 37 reviews)
Excellent97%
Very good3%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Add a review

Excellent séjour

5.0 rating
15/11/2020

Date of stay: 27 Oct-1 Nov 2020
Nous avons passé un excellent séjour en famille aux Vieux Auberts pendant les vacances de la Toussaint, au milieu de la forêt magnifiée par les couleurs d’automne. Lorsque le temps devient maussade, le confort du gîte et la douce chaleur du poêle à bois permettent de passer de bons moments à l’intérieur. Et lors des éclaircies le jardin et la table de pingpong ont été bien appréciés.
La literie confortable et le calme ambiant permettent le repos. A l’étage il faut toutefois être prudent la nuit parce que les poutres sont nombreuses ! La cuisine est bien équipée.
La proximité des propriétaires et leur gentillesse sont évidemment des atouts. Nous avons particulièrement apprécié le panier de bienvenue qui comporte quelques échantillons de la production locale. Leur histoire est intéressante et nous avons eu plaisir à découvrir avec eux la façon dont ils ont magnifié les Vieux Auberts depuis leur arrivée.

BERTHELOT .

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Une excellente critique, merci beaucoup. C’était un plaisir de vous rencontrer tous. Il est à noter que “la production locale” de notre Welcome Pack provient directement de notre potager et de nos propres arbres.
A great review, thank you very much. It was lovely to meet you all. Just worth noting that “the local production” in our Welcome Pack comes directly from our vegetable garden and our own trees.

Agréable maison

5.0 rating
30/10/2020

Date of stay: 17-20 Oct 2020
La propriété se trouve sur un très beau terrain, isolée et dans un endroit calme au milieu des bois. Nous avons été très content de l’accueil et surtout du panier garnis qui était délicieux. Les hôtes étaient très gentils, de même que leurs chiens et leur chevaux. La maison dispose de tout le nécessaire et les chambres étaient très agréables. Il y a plein de choses à voir dans la région.

Coralie L.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beacoup pour votre critique et vos commentaires. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez passé un bon séjour chez nous.

Un séjour revigorant

5.0 rating
24/10/2020

Date of stay: 20-24 Oct 2020
Le charme du lieu n’a d’égal que la beauté des environs. Les hôtes, chaleureux et disponibles, entretiennent leur domaine et leur gîte avec beaucoup d’attention. Un endroit parfait pour se reposer, se cultiver et se reconnecter à la nature. A découvrir, sans hésiter ! Merci à Simon et à Jackie

Muriel C.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cette charmante critique. Nous savons que vous avez tous apprécié votre séjour chez nous et que vous aimeriez vous revoir quand il fait plus chaud!

Un magnifique séjour aux Vieux Auberts !

5.0 rating
09/10/2020

Date of stay: 8-15 Aug 2020
Quelle magnifique semaine avons-nous eu le bonheur de passer dans cette propriété des Vieux Auberts, pleine de charme, entourée d’arbres majestueux et de grands espaces pour les chevaux et les chiens si affectueux de Jackie ! Jackie et Simon sont des hôtes exceptionnellement accueillants, remplis d’attention, avec lesquels nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir à échanger. Merci à eux pour le superbe “Welcome Basket” et aussi pour le bon vin de Saumur rouge qu’ils nous ont fait découvrir et que nous avons partagé ensemble à l’heure de l’apéro ! Les Vieux Auberts est un havre de paix et de calme en plein coeur de la forêt. La maison est décorée avec raffinement, remarquablement bien équipée et documentée. Dans le grand jardin, nous avons beaucoup apprécié de pouvoir prendre nos repas, profiter des transats pour faire la sieste ou lire un bon livre, faire des tournois de badminton jusqu’à la nuit tombée ….!
Thanks again to both of you for your kindness that allowed us to spend this great holiday hiking et visiting castles in your beautiful region.
Take good care of you and we hope to see you soon !
Jacqueline, Françoise, Myriam et Anne-Sophie

Jacqueline .

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci à tous pour cette excellente critique. Nous nous efforçons de faire en sorte que tous nos clients passent les meilleures vacances possibles et nous serions ravis de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Thank you all for such a great review. We try hard to make sure all our guests have the best holidays, and we would love to welcome you back again.

Un séjour de qualité à la campagne

5.0 rating
10/08/2020

Date of stay: 1-8 Aug 2020
Nous avons passé un très agréable séjour dans le gîte de Simon et Jackie, qui est à la fois plein de charme, spacieux, confortable et très bien équipé (notamment la cuisine!). Un grand coup de cœur pour le jardin, très grand et bien entretenu dans lequel on a pu profiter de plusieurs activités mises à disposition (badminton, molki, transat, barbecue…il ne manque que la piscine 🙂 ). La qualité des lits mérite également d’être mentionnée. L’environnement est bucolique et idéal pour déconnecter de la vie citadine. La forêt est à proximité immédiate. Nos hôtes Jackie et Simon étaient charmants et très accueillants, la communication avec eux était très fluide en amont! En résumé, un excellent séjour que nous recommandons vivement, merci encore Simon et Jackie!

Elsa G.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Quelle merveilleuse critique Elsa, merci beaucoup. Nous sommes toujours heureux quand nos invités sont heureux, et que vous ayez réussi à utiliser tous les jeux et autres choses que nous fournissons. Vous avez également exploré un peu les bois environnants, ce qui était formidable. Les enfants étaient tous très heureux aussi, avec beaucoup de sourires chaque fois que nous les avons vus. Nous sommes impatients de vous accueillir à nouveau.

Wonderful stay in the Loire

5.0 rating
09/08/2020

Date of stay: 25 Jul-1 Aug 2020
The house is beautifully located in the forest with a large garden, which our children really enjoyed exploring as well as playing with the dogs. Simon and Jackie took really good care of us and ensured that we had everything we needed. It is a good place to explore the Loire region, both the larger sites as well as some nice villages. We hope to return some time in the future.

Alexander K.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Great review Alex, many thanks. We’re glad you all enjoyed your stay, and that the children were able to explore and meet some of the local wildlife. We hope that you can all come back again to see more.

Un excellent séjour a la campagne

5.0 rating
28/07/2020

Date of stay: 18-25 July 2020
Nous avons passé une excellente semaine aux Vieux Auberts. La maison est grande, tres bien équipée et le jardin est très agréable pour y paresser ou y jouer (chaises longues à disposition, ping-pong…) . Simon et Jacky sont très accueillants et font tout pour que l’on se sente bien des l’arrivée: la maison est très propre, les lits faits…et le panier de bienvenue est une très gentille attention que nous avons beaucoup appréciée.
Nous étions avec nos 2 grands adolescents et la maison est idéale pour cela avec une chambre avec salle de douche au rez-de-chaussée de chaussée et ses deux chambres avec une salle de douche à l’étage.
Une de nos meilleures expériences de location de maison.
Nous y retournons avec plaisir
Merci encore à Simon et Jacky

Bernadette P.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cette excellente critique. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour chez nous et que vous ayez réussi à faire un peu d’exploration également.

Un gîte de grande qualité

5.0 rating
28/07/2020

Date of stay: 11-18 July 2020
Nous avons passé un séjour en famille très agréable dans un gîte de grande qualité, qui invite à la détente au milieu d’une nature foisonnante et de bois à perte de vue. Merci à Simon et Jackie Reeves de nous avoir fait partager cela.

Alain A.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire réfléchi. Ce fut un plaisir de vous avoir ici, et nous attendons avec impatience la prochaine visite.

Best Gîte ever – without exception

5.0 rating
30/06/2020

Date of stay: 27 Jul – 10 Aug 2019
Our second stay here and we’ve run out of superlatives to describe Les Vieux Auberts. Just book and see for yourself what holiday accommodation in France should be like – fantastic. Simon and Jackie are the perfect hosts.

Mike J.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thanks again Mike – it was great to see you both here again, and we’re so glad you had a relaxing holiday, still with plenty to do and see, even after all the other times you’ve been staying in the region. Even the weather was kind! We really look forward to seeing you both again

Séjour de rêve

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 12-15 Mar 2020
Nous avons passé un séjour de rêve, tant la maison et l’accueil étaient incroyables. Nous sommes toujours parti en location, mais jamais nous avons été autant gâté. Jackie et Simon se mettent en quatre pour vous recevoir: :magnifique panier de bienvenu, petits chocolats sur la table de chevet, bouteille de vin pétillant au frigidaire… La propriété est tout simplement magnifique. La maison très joliment décorée. On s’y sent à l’aise de suite. Nous n’avons qu’une hâte, celle d’y retourner dès que nous en aurons la possibilité.

Karine L.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Quelle excellente critique, merci beaucoup. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié le pack de bienvenue et tout le reste, même si ce n’était qu’un court séjour. La prochaine fois, vous devrez venir en été, quand tout est en pleine floraison, et que vous pourrez profiter de l’extérieur.

Euphoric

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 5-12 Mar 2020
This home is in an exquisitely beautiful setting. The surrounding area is a great deal of fun to explore in every direction. The owners are very thorough. Everything one could need has been provided. And the property is spotless inside and out, We cooked delicious dinners using foods purchased at a local farmers market. Quiet and peaceful home. Comfortable beds. I wish I’d made a 2-week reservation. One week simply wasn’t enough. We will be back … for sure.

Deborah Z.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

What a lovely review, thank you very much, Having travelled from California, we were delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed yourselves exploring this beautiful area. We were pleased that you saw the garden just as Spring had sprung, with the flowers in bloom and some of the trees in blossom.

A very comfortable, spacious and well-equipped house in a beautiful, tranquil environment.

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 20-29 Feb 2020
Simon and Jackie provide everything you might need to enjoy your stay in their gite and the lovely outside space. From the very generous welcome basket to the provision of all household products, they seem to have thought of all eventualities and clearly care about providing a great experience for their visitors. The house itself, traditional in its decor, is extremely comfortable with excellent beds, spacious bathrooms and plenty of relaxing furniture in the roomy lounge. It has a lovely atmosphere and is a pleasure to return to at the end of the day. Simon and Jackie are delightful to deal with and made it easy for us to settle into the house and the surrounding area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are very keen to return.

Anna W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you so much for a great review. We always try to ensure our guests have everything they need, right from the start, which is what we would want ourselves. We know that you are familiar with the area, and were very pleased to welcome you all to our part of it. Hopefully you will stay with us again, and explore even more.

Superbe

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 21-28 Dec 2019
Merci tout d’abord à Simon et Jackie pour leur gentillesse et toutes leurs petites attentions très appréciées au cours de la semaine. Le cadre est magnifique ( même en hiver, 😉 ) , très calme et reposant. Si vous aimez la nature, il ne faut pas hésiter, c’est l’endroit qu’il vous faut. De plus, si vous avez un peu de temps, vous avez la ville de Saumur très proche à visiter. En ce qui concerne le gîte, vous avez tout l’équipement qu’il vous faut, c’est parfait pour une famille, notre petite fille a adoré. Encore un grand merci aux propriétaires. Grégoire et Isabelle.

Grégoire V.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cette excellente critique. Cela nous rend toujours heureux quand nos invités le sont aussi. C’était un plaisir de vous avoir ici, et de présenter à votre fille nos chevaux et nos chiens. Nous espérons que vous reviendrez, peut-être au printemps ou en été, quand vous pourrez vraiment profiter du jardin.

MERCI!

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 26 Oct – 2 Nov 2019
Merci pour ce séjour magnifique Merci pour ce havre de paix représentant cette belle région angevine Merci pour cette quiétude ce calme cette tranquillité ou nous avons pu apprécier toute la nature qui nous entoure Merci d’avoir accepté notre chien Oscar qui lui aussi a passé d’excellents moments Enfin et surtout Merci pour votre accueil votre discrétion votre disponibilité et votre gentillesse Dagmar Richard et notre chien Oscar.

Richard A.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci pour votre aimable évaluation. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié notre charmante petite partie de la France. C’était un plaisir d’avoir Oscar, un garçon bien élevé et gentil.

Fantastic experience

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 21-28 Sep 2019
From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and throughout our stay Simon and Jackie were the perfect hosts. The property was very clean and in an excellent condition and it was clear that attention had been given to every little detail. The welcome pack was very generous and full of fresh, homegrown produce. The property is located in a beautiful, quiet and peaceful area where you can relax and enjoy nature. Full marks to Simon and Jackie!

Elsabe H.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you very much. We enjoyed having you all here, and chatting over aperos during the week. Glad you found the gîte was what you were looking for, and that you managed to explore, even though the weather was a bit dull, after all the sunshine we’ve had this year.

Excellent all round

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 14-21 Sep 2019
If you are looking for a home from home location in the peace and quiet – then look no further.
This beautiful gite is set in large grounds, with its own large garden where you can relax and rest in comfort. Perfectly located for exploring the vineyards and chateaux of the Loire Valley. We would love to go back.
The only noise to disturb you are the owls, deer and wild boar on an evening and night. If you like stargazing then you will benefit from the dark skies and swathe of stars visible form the garden.
The beds are comfortable and meant we all slept well and the bedrooms spacious and well furnished, the same can be said of the bathroom and en suite.
The hosts Simon and Jackie have paid exceptional attention to detail to ensure you have everything you need to enjoy your holiday. They supply a welcome pack of a few things to get you started – tea, coffee etc. We made use of the opportunity to have some shopping done for us prior to arrival, meaning that our first two days were sorted from a food point of view. As intended by our hosts this meant we could arrive and relax, so would recommend others take advantage of this service too.
We enjoyed the table tennis, badminton and barbecue and other games (indoor and out) are also provided as is television and wifi.

Elizabeth S.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Elizabeth. We’ve tried hard to make our guests’ time here as laid back as possible, and we’re glad you took full advantage.

A wonderful, relaxing holiday

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 24 Aug – 7 Sep 2019
Les Vieux Auberts is a very special place. It has absolutely everything you need and want from a holiday. It is really well equipped – Simon and Jackie have obviously put a lot of thought into providing everything you could possibly need. The garden and grounds are lovely and the peace is wonderful. Simon and Jackie are brilliant hosts – very friendly and helpful. Their three dogs are great characters and extremely well behaved. Lots to see and do in the area too. We certainly hope to return.

Malcolm S.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you both for a great review. It’s always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their holiday. With the nice weather you definitely made the most of it, with trips out and about every day. The dogs were almost depressed after you left :). Hope to see you again soon.

Beautiful location, fabulous house and grounds with superb hosts

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 10-24 Aug 2019
The pictures really don’t do this gite justice. Simon and Jackie have rely worked hard to make this property a fabulous holiday destination. From the spotlessly clean house to the well tendered gardens we were impressed from the start. Jackie and Simon were there to meet us, and quickly showed us around the property so we were clear on how everything worked. There is also a very well laid out house book that covers all the usual items, such as places to visit etc however they have added additional items such as emergency contact and useful French phrases which was a really good idea. Also another unique touch was the welcome basket with fresh produce from their garden, and our pre ordered 1st shop waiting for us……fantastic idea 😀 The gite and garden are separate and secluded so as to give their guests a very peaceful and relaxing location which we took full advantage off, along with the many games provided which kept the kids occupied. There are lots of lovely villages and towns within the area to visit, we particularly liked Saumur with its bars and cafes. However if you just want to chill and relax this is a perfect location. Thank you Simon and Jackie for a wonderful holiday.

Steve W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Wow Steve – thank you for such a great review. With your fairly stressful job, we are so glad you all had such a relaxing time. There are many times during the day when there is total silence, or just a bit of birdsong, so it can’t be much more peaceful! As you know, we have tried to provide everything we ourselves would want in a gîte, particularly the cleanliness aspect, and we always ask our guests for ideas for improvement. Hopefully we are getting there!

Thoughtful amenities · Historic building · Spacious rooms

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 20-27 Jul 2019
Had a fantastic week at Les Vieux Auberts in July. Simon and Jackie are great hosts and have really have things spot on. The setting is so peaceful (not for those in search of nightlife unless, like us, you’re after hooting owls and deer and wild boar rustling in the forest!). The gite lacks for nothing and the ‘welcome pack’ with homemade apple juice and jam really was a cut above. There is loads to do in the area and would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting the Loire Valley.

Karen M.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Karen. We’re pleased you managed to hear the wildlife, even if some of it is still a bit elusive!

A truly excellent holiday cottage run by charming hosts

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 13-20 Jul 2019
Les Vieux Auberts is one of the best gites we have visited in 20 years of coming to France. It is comfortable and well equipped with every modern convenience whilst maintaining an authentic French rustic charm. Simon and Jackie are very welcoming hosts and have taken great care to ensure that your holiday is totally stress free. The property is meticulously clean and tidy on arrival and the welcome pack which includes some essentials as well as a few treats is very welcome indeed.

Mark P.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you very much for a great review. We have tried hard to ensure that the gîte has everything we would want ourselves if we were staying there! We’re also very pleased that you found so much to do and see in your first visit to this area, and that you found the holiday so relaxing as well. There is still loads more, so we hope to see you again.

Peaceful, dog-friendly and welcoming.

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 9 Jun – 6 Jul 2019
Well equipped and characterful gîte. Friendly and helpful owners live next door and ready to assist while valuing your (and their) privacy. Dogs safe in garden and genuinely welcome on premises. Peaceful, wooded location with all amenities reasonably close at hand. Good value, no compromise on quality.

Julie C.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Great review Julie, thank you very much. Very glad that you all had a good holiday with us, even with the scorching weather!

One of the very best of many visited – faultless

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 22-29 Jun 2019
Well designed, spacious, nicely furnished and decorated, equipped with everything, including generous welcome pack. Ground stunning and area very interesting – bit too hot at 46c (not usual) Simon and Jackie were perfect hosts. Bit of paradise!

Peter M.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you for your comments, and for those you left in our guest book. Very glad you found a small bit of paradise with us, even though it was a tad warm!! Unfortunately, we can’t control the weather, so everything is a bit parched at the moment. Even in the hot weather there is always something to see and do, so we look forward to seeing you again.

Excellent

4.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 25 May – 1 Jun 2019
Beautifully renovated gite full of character and comfort. Perfectly equipped
The outdoor dining area was beautiful and tranquil. You are surrounded by lush forest and birdsong
There is an abundance of attractions in the area, but equally the gite itself offers a retreat from the fast lane, perfect for nature lovers.
We brought grandma who is a wheelchair user and the downstairs facilities were just right for her .

Diana Y.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you for your lovely comments Diana. We are very pleased that the facilities were suitable for your grandma, as we set out to provide these from the outset. We would love to see you all again – perhaps next time we can take up your offer of teaching us some of your delicious Malaysian cooking!

Super gîte au calme dans la nature

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 13-20 Apr 2019
Les Vieux Auberts, charmante maison angevine ayant conservé tout le goût de l’authenticité , et en plus très fonctionnelle , spacieuse , très bien entretenue, très bien équipée et décorée, avec un jardin clos de belle surface pour la sécurité des enfants et des animaux de compagnie Jackie et Simon, des propriétaires charmants , pleins d’attention et de délicatesse , toujours à l’écoute des besoins et malgré cela très discrets et non envahissants, avec un grand sens de l’accueil et du respect, très disponibles également pour nos enfants de 11 et 14 ans Un cadre très agréable, avec beaucoup d’espace , des chevaux très abordables , 3 chiens merveilleux de gentillesse et d’éducation, très obéissants et affectueux, la propriété entourée de forêt , de petits chemins de balade La proximité du village de Mouliherne, la rapidité d’accès aux destinations touristiques ( Saumur avec son château et sa vieille ville , le zoo de la flèche et ses animaux rares , ainsi que ses soigneurs aussi sympas que dans ” une saison au Zoo” sur France 4, Angers et la Loire ) Une merveilleuse semaine pour profiter de la douceur angevine dans un lieu et avec des hôtes de qualité Un lieu rare !

Guy V.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Wow, quelle critique fantastique – un grand merci à tous. Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez tous passé une si agréable pause avec nous et nous serions ravis de vous accueillir

Calme spacieux de toute beauté

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 22-29 Dec 2018
Merci Jakie et Simon pour votre accueil, votre sympathie et tout le reste….. Nous avons beaucoup apprécié votre gîte qui est très accueillant, spacieux et très bien décoré. Surtout pour Noêl, vos petites attentions nous ont fait beaucoup plaisir. Le lieu est calme et reposant. Nous avons pu faire des visites car le gîte est très bien situé. Si nous retournons dans votre région nous hésiterons pas à y retourner. Nous vous saluons avec toute notre amitié. Magali, François, Quentin et Lisa

Francois S.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour vos aimables commentaires. Nous sommes toujours très heureux quand nos hôtes apprécient leur séjour chez nous. Le temps était beau aussi, ce qui est un bonus à cette époque de l’année, donc vous pouvez explorer un peu la région. Nous espérons vraiment vous revoir tous à l’avenir.

Un endroit de rêve !

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 27 Oct-3 Nov 2018
Gîte conforme à l’annonce et aux photos, très cosy, grand confort douillet, spacieux pour 6 personnes, un calme absolu, on entend les bruits de la forêt toute proche et même les feuilles qui tombent… enchantés de ce séjour…

Marie H.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci pour vos merveilleux commentaires, nous les apprécions vraiment. En cette période de l’année, la forêt est magnifique, et nous sommes heureux que vous ayez tout apprécié. Nous espérons vous revoir bientôt.

A real Gem

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 22-29 Sep 2018
A really wonderful place to stay, a credit to Jackie and Simon. Beautiful grounds and a really well equipped lovely Gîte . Simon and Jackie make you feel really welcome and not forgetting the three gorgeous dogs, Maddie, Ziva and Phoebe, who were a delight as were the three horses. A really comfortable friendly stay, would recommend to anyone.

Sandra J.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Sandra and Graham – it was like old friends having you here, especially for Graham’s birthday. The dogs were quite subdued after you left, as they know dog lovers when they see one. We are so glad you had a relaxing and restful break, and really hope to see you again soon.

A real gem

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 1-15 Sep 2018
Simon and Jackie are wonderful unobtrusive hosts ,they made us feel so very welcome throughout our two week stay.They are both are full of local knowledge and info.
The gîte is beautiful ,in a lovely setting, surrounded by forest,it is so well equipped and the attention to detail is second to none.We could not wait to return, after daily site seeing to sit and relax in the spacious garden,and cook up a delicious meal of local produce.Mostly thanks to Bernard the local Boucher.
We will return

Tim W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Tim and Vicky. We really enjoyed having you here – we think Honey was happy too. Great to see that you used the local suppliers, and that we managed to introduce you to some things you had not tried before. There are lots more waiting for when you return!

Erholsame Tage mit interessanten Besichtigungen

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 18-25 Aug 2018
Die saubere und freundliche, liebevoll restaurierte Unterkunft mit einem Willkommenspaket, das das erste Frühstück und noch mehr abdeckte, sowie Jackies und Simons herzlicher Empfang liessen uns gleich wie zu Hause fühlen. Die ruhige Lage bietet Tiefenentspannung beim gemütlichen Lesen in einem der zahlreichen vorhandenen Liegestühle. Die Schlösser in der Nähe sowie die Städte Saumur, Angers, Tours bieten interessante Ausflugsmöglichkeiten. Der Bioparc in Doue hat uns auch sehr begeistert. Urig sind auch die Troglodyten von Forges. Die Umgebung lädt auch zu ausgiebigen Spaziergängen ein. Im Laden von Mouliherne haben wir morgens leckeres Baguette und Pains au Chocolat gekauft.

Renate K.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Vielen Dank für Ihre sehr freundlichen Anmerkungen. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie so viel von der Region gesehen haben und sich entspannen und die Ruhe von Les Vieux Auberts genießen konnten, wenn Sie jeden Tag zurückkehren. Es wäre schön, euch alle in Zukunft wiederzusehen.

A wonderful two-week family break in a beautiful, peaceful location

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 21 Jul-4 Aug 2018
Thank you for a wonderful holiday. The accommodation is stunning and equipped to the highest level. Rooms were a good size with plenty of space. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms have good showers. The garden and covered paved area were great and the good quality barbecue used daily. Late night star-gazing was stunning with the clear skies and the use of the two adult bicycles was a hit with the children.
Simon and Jackie are lovely hosts. We hope to visit again.

Ian B.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you for such a great review – we are really pleased that you enjoyed it so much, and made such good use of the BBQ too. We’ll add the lack of light pollution to the website.

Astounding

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 30 Jun – 7 Jul 2018
Don’t look any further! We would highly recommend this property. We had a fabulous week and staying here was the icing on the cake. Jackie and Simon were amazing hosts – A detailed but informal welcome, everything we needed and required was in the Gîte , and on hand for any questions or advice through out the holiday but not in any way intrusive. The Gîte and the grounds are just stunning, comfortable, relaxing, clean and very well maintained. And they gave us the best Welcome pack we have ever received. The area is very central – so much to see and do that we couldn’t fit it all in. Therefore, we would definitely return to the area to carry on our exploring and would not hesitate to stay here again…. Just for the daily doggy cuddling! Thank you for making our holiday so perfect.

Jo T.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

A really big thank you to Jo and everyone for such a great review. It has put a huge smile on both our faces, knowing that you all enjoyed staying here so much, and managed to do so much exploring as well. Hopefully you’ll come back and do some more in the future

Beautiful property – home from home

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 23-30 Jun 2018
The photographs do not do the property justice.Top quality restoration with all facilities in a quiet and relaxing location at the start and end of days exploring.We believe Simon and Jackie who are at the adjoining property if needed,have covered everything and it was great to meet and spend time with them. We would not hesitate to stay again when in this area of France – M,J,C and C

Michael D.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you all for your great comments, and those you left in our guest book. Thank you also for leaving everything so clean and tidy, which made our changeover much easier and quicker. We hope very much that you will return next year for the Le Mans events.

Superb Gîte with acres of space

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 19-25 May 2018
Wonderful Gîte whose facilities were second to none. Wildlife in abundance, the atmosphere of relaxation and acres of space made this the best Gîte we’ve ever stayed in 42 years of holidaying in France.

Mikc J.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and even managed to find some real bargains in the local vide greniers. Great to also meet fellow wine lovers, and francophiles. Hopefully you will manage another trip over here, in which case we’ll keep a bottle ready!

Excellent gîte, lovely hosts

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 28 Apr – 5 May 2018
Our hosts Simon and Jackie were extremely heĺpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. Everything was supplied in the gîte that was needed. Superb location. Would strongly recommend. Thank you Diane and Duane

Duane J.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Diane and Duane. We’re glad you enjoyed your break with us, especially chatting over a glass (or two) of the excellent local sparkling wine! Hopefully you managed to find some space in the car to take some bottles back. Look forward to meeting again.

Wonderful place to stay

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 20 Dec 2017 – 2 Jan 2018
We spend one week with a group of 6 people and it was really wonderful. It is a cozy place but has anything you need to make yourself home. The private garden is big enough to sit outside with the whole group and thanks to the roof above the outside sitting area in the garden you even can sit outside while rain or I assume in the summertime during the sun is burning down at you. The kitchen has most things you need for cooking and it is well equipped with nearly everything you need. The Dishwasher makes cleaning easy and the fridge is big enough to keep everything you need for a longer stay with 6 people cold. The three bedrooms are different in size but all have the same coziness level so you feel like home and not like you stay in a hotel. One of them has a bath with a toilet and a shower en-suite and the other two bedrooms share the bigger bathroom, which has also a toilet and a shower. The living room has a television with a huge collection of films, a little oven for the colder days, some books and games. We spend a lot of time in this room, playing games and talking. Cozy sofas provide a very good place for long evenings with a bottle of wine and some games, talking or watching a movie. A supermarket where you can bye literally everything you need for the stay is just a couple of minutes away by car. We just walked around the area around the Gîte and is a nice and quiet area to talk a walk, if you are into nature. So, all in all, it is a great place to stay and Simon and Jackie are wonderful hosts. Whenever you need something you can ask them, and they will help you. It really was a relaxing holiday for all of us, and one of the reasons was definitely the house and the hosts. We can recommend the Gîte for a stay for a group of friends, who just want to spend some time together and make themselves a good time.

Jo R.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Jo and friends for such a detailed and complimentary review, and in English as well (your English is FAR better than our German). As we mentioned, it was really great to meet and chat to you all, but a shame the weather was not a bit better, just the opposite to the summer when it can get to 35C or more – perfect for outdoor eating. The “little oven” you describe is actually a 10kW wood burner, which can provide more than enough heat :). We have taken up your suggestion of a fire pit, and have bought an 80cm dish (made in Germany) so it should make sitting outside in the colder months a bit more pleasant. We would love to see you all again, perhaps in the summer this time.

Charming ambiance & outstanding customer satisfaction

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 22-27 Dec 2017
We spent Christmas at Les Vieux Aubert & what an extra special place to celebrate with our grown-up family. Simon & Jackie are gracious hosts who were extra helpful and welcoming – even before we arrived – with invaluable information & excellent advice before our arrival! This charming couple have decorated & equipped Les Vieux Auberts well, with so many thoughtful extra touches. The rooms are spacious, flow well, and the lounge is deliciously cosy with the welcoming log burner. The gîte is part of a converted barn & provides the most delightful quirky areas – amazing architectural delights like the wooden beams, high ceilings & little nooks often found in these converted characterful homes. Two double bedrooms and an ensuite are upstairs – spacious, warm & beautifully decorated with quality finishes & bedding. The well equipped kitchen & lounge are on the ground level with another well appointed double en-suite room. This ground floor bedroom is perfect for those with limited mobility as there are no stairs. Plenty of space, good equipment, furnishings & a lovely surprise of good quality crockery & cutlery. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the area. No problems with car parking either. Driving about to Samur, Angers, and the other beautiful areas was easy. Shopping was good – found some lovely produce with suggestions & directions from Simon. I can imagine how stunning it would all be in the summer – Les Vieux Auberts is surrounded by beautiful woods (we saw deer, boar & several raptors) & has the feeling of being away from it all in nature while still being close enough to civilisation. We’d love it if the opportunity arose for us to return in summertime to enjoy the lovely garden with well designed outdoor seating & cycle the beautiful surrounding area. Thank-you Simon, Jackie & the hounds for going the extra mile to ensure our Christmas break was simply amazing!

Trish W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

What a great review Trish, thank you so much. You were our first Christmas guests, and we are really pleased that everything went so well, particularly for your first time in a gîte . As you know, we have tried hard to ensure our guests have everything they need, so the fact that you were able to cook a Christmas meal for the whole family is proof positive! Christmas eve was really enjoyable too, chatting with you all and enjoying some of the goodies you brought. It was also good that you were able to explore some of the area, and to see some of the local wildlife – there is a lot more around in the summer! There are also LOTS more activities and attractions going on in the area during the summer, so if you can tear yourselves away from your own business, we would love to see you all again.

Très agréable séjour

5.0 rating
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 21 Oct – 4 Nov 2017
Simon et Jackie nous ont accueillis chaleureusement dans leur domaine Les Vieux Auberts et nous avons beaucoup apprécié de pouvoir échanger avec eux. Leur présence est à la fois courtoise et discrète, et aussi efficace en cas de besoin. Ils nous ont gratifiés de cadeaux très appropriés pour nous et nos enfants. Le gîte est situé dans une maison authentique et refaite à neuf, très bien isolée de l’habitation de Simon et Jackie. La maison est belle, décorée avec soin et goût, tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur. Tout est très fonctionnel et neuf : cuisine bien équipée , literie confortable, salles de bain modernes, pièces vastes et lumineuses, etc. Le jardin est très grand, avec plusieurs parcelles dont certaines clôturées pour les animaux. Nos enfants ont beaucoup apprécié la liberté que leur procurait cet espace de jeux. La situation est relativement isolée, ce qui est très positif si l’on cherche comme nous le calme, la pureté de l’air et les possibilités de promenade. Nous avons même croisé des chevreuils à quelques mètres du portail du domaine. En voiture, il est très facile de visiter les villes telles que Saumur, et surtout les châteaux de la Loire les plus proches. Notre séjour était donc une excellente expérience qui nous a apporté une sensation de sérénité et de très bons souvenirs, que nous serions heureux de renouveler.

Antoine D.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cette super critique. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez tous apprécié vos vacances avec nous, et que notre gîte a répondu à toutes vos attentes. C’était agréable que vous rencontriez une partie de la faune locale et que vous appréciiez l’air pur et les environs paisibles. Nous espérons beaucoup vous revoir tous.