We aim to publish all reviews. However, we reserve the right to moderate, or not publish, any that may contain offensive language or that have been written by anyone who has not stayed with us. For this reason, your review may not be published for 24 hours.

Click on Add a review below to add your review.

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 65 reviews)
Excellent97%
Very good3%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Add a review

A real gem

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 1-15 Sep 2018
Simon and Jackie are wonderful unobtrusive hosts ,they made us feel so very welcome throughout our two week stay.They are both are full of local knowledge and info.
The gîte is beautiful ,in a lovely setting, surrounded by forest,it is so well equipped and the attention to detail is second to none.We could not wait to return, after daily site seeing to sit and relax in the spacious garden,and cook up a delicious meal of local produce.Mostly thanks to Bernard the local Boucher.
We will return

Tim W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Tim and Vicky. We really enjoyed having you here – we think Honey was happy too. Great to see that you used the local suppliers, and that we managed to introduce you to some things you had not tried before. There are lots more waiting for when you return!

Erholsame Tage mit interessanten Besichtigungen

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 18-25 Aug 2018
Die saubere und freundliche, liebevoll restaurierte Unterkunft mit einem Willkommenspaket, das das erste Frühstück und noch mehr abdeckte, sowie Jackies und Simons herzlicher Empfang liessen uns gleich wie zu Hause fühlen. Die ruhige Lage bietet Tiefenentspannung beim gemütlichen Lesen in einem der zahlreichen vorhandenen Liegestühle. Die Schlösser in der Nähe sowie die Städte Saumur, Angers, Tours bieten interessante Ausflugsmöglichkeiten. Der Bioparc in Doue hat uns auch sehr begeistert. Urig sind auch die Troglodyten von Forges. Die Umgebung lädt auch zu ausgiebigen Spaziergängen ein. Im Laden von Mouliherne haben wir morgens leckeres Baguette und Pains au Chocolat gekauft.

Renate K.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Vielen Dank für Ihre sehr freundlichen Anmerkungen. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie so viel von der Region gesehen haben und sich entspannen und die Ruhe von Les Vieux Auberts genießen konnten, wenn Sie jeden Tag zurückkehren. Es wäre schön, euch alle in Zukunft wiederzusehen.

A wonderfull holiday at Les Vieux Auberts

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 4-18 Aug 2018
Our stay at Les Vieux Auberts was beyond our expectations! The house was spacious, clean and tidy, well equiped and because it was very hot for a few days, we were glad the house was very cool inside! Simon and Jacky were perfect hosts: Upon arrival there were vegetables from their garden on the table, a bottle of Champenoise and other treats to make us feel at home. They helped us, when we had questions and although they live next to our gîte , there was enough privacy. We recommend this gîte to anyone who likes peace, nature, wine of the Loire and cultural trips. Thank you Jackie and Simon for your hospitality and making our holiday so well! Mineke,Tjitte, David and Jos, Amsterdam, Alkmaar,The Netherlands

Jos S.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you all for such a great review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your break with us, and managed to explore so much of this beautiful area. It was also good to see you relaxing in the garden on the sun loungers.

A wonderful two-week family break in a beautiful, peaceful location

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 21 Jul-4 Aug 2018
Thank you for a wonderful holiday. The accommodation is stunning and equipped to the highest level. Rooms were a good size with plenty of space. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms have good showers. The garden and covered paved area were great and the good quality barbecue used daily. Late night star-gazing was stunning with the clear skies and the use of the two adult bicycles was a hit with the children.
Simon and Jackie are lovely hosts. We hope to visit again.

Ian B.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you for such a great review – we are really pleased that you enjoyed it so much, and made such good use of the BBQ too. We’ll add the lack of light pollution to the website.

Perfect place and location

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 14-21 July 2018
We had a fabulous week with Simon and Jackie who were so welcoming and helpful. The property is located in a beautiful woodland area, peaceful and in the heart of the Loire. It’s within each reach of small towns shops and bars and the larger supermarkets. Our two dogs absolutely loved the garden and playing with Simon and Jackie’s three dogs. A wonderful holiday we would certainly go back to. Highly recommended

Jo D.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Jo and Andy + dogs. We had a good time while you were here too, and enjoyed a glass or two with you. The video of Seth trying to dig his way out of the paddling pool is on Facebook, and has several likes already, and we hope you will visit us soon, so we can do it all again.

Astounding

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 30 Jun – 7 Jul 2018
Don’t look any further! We would highly recommend this property. We had a fabulous week and staying here was the icing on the cake. Jackie and Simon were amazing hosts – A detailed but informal welcome, everything we needed and required was in the Gîte , and on hand for any questions or advice through out the holiday but not in any way intrusive. The Gîte and the grounds are just stunning, comfortable, relaxing, clean and very well maintained. And they gave us the best Welcome pack we have ever received. The area is very central – so much to see and do that we couldn’t fit it all in. Therefore, we would definitely return to the area to carry on our exploring and would not hesitate to stay here again…. Just for the daily doggy cuddling! Thank you for making our holiday so perfect.

Jo T.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

A really big thank you to Jo and everyone for such a great review. It has put a huge smile on both our faces, knowing that you all enjoyed staying here so much, and managed to do so much exploring as well. Hopefully you’ll come back and do some more in the future

Beautiful property – home from home

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 23-30 Jun 2018
The photographs do not do the property justice.Top quality restoration with all facilities in a quiet and relaxing location at the start and end of days exploring.We believe Simon and Jackie who are at the adjoining property if needed,have covered everything and it was great to meet and spend time with them. We would not hesitate to stay again when in this area of France – M,J,C and C

Michael D.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you all for your great comments, and those you left in our guest book. Thank you also for leaving everything so clean and tidy, which made our changeover much easier and quicker. We hope very much that you will return next year for the Le Mans events.

Superb Gîte with acres of space

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 19-25 May 2018
Wonderful Gîte whose facilities were second to none. Wildlife in abundance, the atmosphere of relaxation and acres of space made this the best Gîte we’ve ever stayed in 42 years of holidaying in France.

Mikc J.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and even managed to find some real bargains in the local vide greniers. Great to also meet fellow wine lovers, and francophiles. Hopefully you will manage another trip over here, in which case we’ll keep a bottle ready!

Excellent gîte, lovely hosts

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 28 Apr – 5 May 2018
Our hosts Simon and Jackie were extremely heĺpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. Everything was supplied in the gîte that was needed. Superb location. Would strongly recommend. Thank you Diane and Duane

Duane J.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Diane and Duane. We’re glad you enjoyed your break with us, especially chatting over a glass (or two) of the excellent local sparkling wine! Hopefully you managed to find some space in the car to take some bottles back. Look forward to meeting again.

Wonderful stay / Séjour merveilleux

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 14-21 Apr 2018
What a wonderful stay we had in Les Vieux Auberts. Jackie and Simon are fantastic hosts, both discreet and always willing to help and advise. Nothing is missing in the gîte . Beds are great, bathrooms and kitchen have all you need. The barbecue works great. The weather this early April was also on our side, with sunny days and temperatures never below 25°C. The wild life is all around the house. Birds wake you up in the morning, and you can hear deers, and other owls and birds the names I have forgotten (sorry Simon because you have repeated it a few times 🙂 ) There are 3 lovely and quiet dogs that our 4 children have loved and played with. Three horses live in the barn just next to the gîte . We will definitely come back as there are so much to do, within just 30 to 45 minutes-drive: the Zoo of La flèche, the Zoo of Douai la Fontaine, Le Cadre Noir de Saumur which I really recommand for those who are horse lovers, the Chateau du Lude, The Chateau of Reze, and so much more. Not to mention the nice walks we had starting from the gîte , sometimes at night to enjoy the wild life and the peacefulness… Thanks again Jackie and Simon for the holidays that we spent and the memories we will keep. Maxime, Jeanne and the 4 children 🙂

Maxime N.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Maxime, Jeanne and family for such a great review and critique. Hearing the children playing in the garden was absolutely super, and we are really, really pleased that they overcame their initial fear of dogs when they met ours. It was also great that you managed to hear and see some of the local wildlife, which is around us all of the time. We hope that you can tear yourselves away from the city life and visit us again in the future.

Wonderful place to stay

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 20 Dec 2017 – 2 Jan 2018
We spend one week with a group of 6 people and it was really wonderful. It is a cozy place but has anything you need to make yourself home. The private garden is big enough to sit outside with the whole group and thanks to the roof above the outside sitting area in the garden you even can sit outside while rain or I assume in the summertime during the sun is burning down at you. The kitchen has most things you need for cooking and it is well equipped with nearly everything you need. The Dishwasher makes cleaning easy and the fridge is big enough to keep everything you need for a longer stay with 6 people cold. The three bedrooms are different in size but all have the same coziness level so you feel like home and not like you stay in a hotel. One of them has a bath with a toilet and a shower en-suite and the other two bedrooms share the bigger bathroom, which has also a toilet and a shower. The living room has a television with a huge collection of films, a little oven for the colder days, some books and games. We spend a lot of time in this room, playing games and talking. Cozy sofas provide a very good place for long evenings with a bottle of wine and some games, talking or watching a movie. A supermarket where you can bye literally everything you need for the stay is just a couple of minutes away by car. We just walked around the area around the Gîte and is a nice and quiet area to talk a walk, if you are into nature. So, all in all, it is a great place to stay and Simon and Jackie are wonderful hosts. Whenever you need something you can ask them, and they will help you. It really was a relaxing holiday for all of us, and one of the reasons was definitely the house and the hosts. We can recommend the Gîte for a stay for a group of friends, who just want to spend some time together and make themselves a good time.

Jo R.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you Jo and friends for such a detailed and complimentary review, and in English as well (your English is FAR better than our German). As we mentioned, it was really great to meet and chat to you all, but a shame the weather was not a bit better, just the opposite to the summer when it can get to 35C or more – perfect for outdoor eating. The “little oven” you describe is actually a 10kW wood burner, which can provide more than enough heat :). We have taken up your suggestion of a fire pit, and have bought an 80cm dish (made in Germany) so it should make sitting outside in the colder months a bit more pleasant. We would love to see you all again, perhaps in the summer this time.

Charming ambiance & outstanding customer satisfaction

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 22-27 Dec 2017
We spent Christmas at Les Vieux Aubert & what an extra special place to celebrate with our grown-up family. Simon & Jackie are gracious hosts who were extra helpful and welcoming – even before we arrived – with invaluable information & excellent advice before our arrival! This charming couple have decorated & equipped Les Vieux Auberts well, with so many thoughtful extra touches. The rooms are spacious, flow well, and the lounge is deliciously cosy with the welcoming log burner. The gîte is part of a converted barn & provides the most delightful quirky areas – amazing architectural delights like the wooden beams, high ceilings & little nooks often found in these converted characterful homes. Two double bedrooms and an ensuite are upstairs – spacious, warm & beautifully decorated with quality finishes & bedding. The well equipped kitchen & lounge are on the ground level with another well appointed double en-suite room. This ground floor bedroom is perfect for those with limited mobility as there are no stairs. Plenty of space, good equipment, furnishings & a lovely surprise of good quality crockery & cutlery. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the area. No problems with car parking either. Driving about to Samur, Angers, and the other beautiful areas was easy. Shopping was good – found some lovely produce with suggestions & directions from Simon. I can imagine how stunning it would all be in the summer – Les Vieux Auberts is surrounded by beautiful woods (we saw deer, boar & several raptors) & has the feeling of being away from it all in nature while still being close enough to civilisation. We’d love it if the opportunity arose for us to return in summertime to enjoy the lovely garden with well designed outdoor seating & cycle the beautiful surrounding area. Thank-you Simon, Jackie & the hounds for going the extra mile to ensure our Christmas break was simply amazing!

Trish W.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

What a great review Trish, thank you so much. You were our first Christmas guests, and we are really pleased that everything went so well, particularly for your first time in a gîte . As you know, we have tried hard to ensure our guests have everything they need, so the fact that you were able to cook a Christmas meal for the whole family is proof positive! Christmas eve was really enjoyable too, chatting with you all and enjoying some of the goodies you brought. It was also good that you were able to explore some of the area, and to see some of the local wildlife – there is a lot more around in the summer! There are also LOTS more activities and attractions going on in the area during the summer, so if you can tear yourselves away from your own business, we would love to see you all again.

Très agréable séjour

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 21 Oct – 4 Nov 2017
Simon et Jackie nous ont accueillis chaleureusement dans leur domaine Les Vieux Auberts et nous avons beaucoup apprécié de pouvoir échanger avec eux. Leur présence est à la fois courtoise et discrète, et aussi efficace en cas de besoin. Ils nous ont gratifiés de cadeaux très appropriés pour nous et nos enfants. Le gîte est situé dans une maison authentique et refaite à neuf, très bien isolée de l’habitation de Simon et Jackie. La maison est belle, décorée avec soin et goût, tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur. Tout est très fonctionnel et neuf : cuisine bien équipée , literie confortable, salles de bain modernes, pièces vastes et lumineuses, etc. Le jardin est très grand, avec plusieurs parcelles dont certaines clôturées pour les animaux. Nos enfants ont beaucoup apprécié la liberté que leur procurait cet espace de jeux. La situation est relativement isolée, ce qui est très positif si l’on cherche comme nous le calme, la pureté de l’air et les possibilités de promenade. Nous avons même croisé des chevreuils à quelques mètres du portail du domaine. En voiture, il est très facile de visiter les villes telles que Saumur, et surtout les châteaux de la Loire les plus proches. Notre séjour était donc une excellente expérience qui nous a apporté une sensation de sérénité et de très bons souvenirs, que nous serions heureux de renouveler.

Antoine D.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Merci beaucoup pour cette super critique. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez tous apprécié vos vacances avec nous, et que notre gîte a répondu à toutes vos attentes. C’était agréable que vous rencontriez une partie de la faune locale et que vous appréciiez l’air pur et les environs paisibles. Nous espérons beaucoup vous revoir tous.

Wonderful stay in the heart of the Loire

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 4-10 Sep 2017
We stayed at Les Vieux Auberts with our 1 year old daughter at the start of September and had a wonderful time! Simon and Jackie were so welcoming and the house was equipped with everything we needed, including a great selection of kitchen utensils and a cot, high chair and stair gate for our toddler. The garden was the perfect place to spend a relaxing afternoon and a lovely setting for evening meals cooked on the Weber BBQ. The area is beautiful – so peaceful but still very close to many places of interest, including Saumur, Angers, lots of chateaux and the fantastic zoo at Doue. Thank you to the Reeves’s for a great stay!

Niall C.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable holiday with us, and that everything was as you wanted it. Now that we live here permanently, we have drawn on our own experiences of staying and holidaying all over France for over 35 years, and have tried very hard to think of and provide everything our guests might need to make their stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

Excellent gîte with everything you need for a super holiday

Rated 5 out of 5
27/06/2020

Date of stay: 19-22 Jul 2017
Excellent gîte with everything you need for a super holiday – a home from home in the Loire!
Jackie and Simon (and dogs!) were welcoming, friendly and helpful. They have thought of every little detail and ensured that the gîte is equipped with everything you need. The accommodation is extremely comfortable, the site is beautiful and there is lots to do in the surrounding area. We were only the second booking they have had, and based on our experience we would recommend Les Vieux Auberts to anyone for a super time. We’re sure this gîte will be very popular. Thank you Jackie and Simon and good luck!

Paul C.

Response from Les Vieux Auberts

Thank you, Paul and Viv. It was a pleasure having you all here, and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We tried hard to ensure that the gîte was as we would have wanted it to be, had we been renting it ourselves, having done so for many years in gîte s, cottages and villas all over France. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.